

# **Report of the Chair**

# Scrutiny Programme Committee – 12 February 2018

# Membership of Scrutiny Panels and Working Groups

| Purpose:                        | The Scrutiny Programme Committee is responsible for<br>appointing members and conveners to the various<br>scrutiny panels / working groups that are established.<br>This report advises of relevant matters that need to be<br>considered. |
|---------------------------------|--|
| Content:                        | This report is provided to facilitate any changes that need to be made.  |
| Councillors are being asked to: | agree the membership of Panels and Working Groups, and any other changes necessary   |
| Lead Councillor:                | Councillor Mary Jones, Chair of the Scrutiny Programme<br>Committee  |
| Lead Officer &                  | Brij Madahar, Scrutiny Team Leader   |
| Report Author:                  | Tel: 01792 637257  |
|                                 | E-mail: <u>brij.madahar@swansea.gov.uk</u>   |
| Legal Officer:                  | Debbie Smith   |
| Finance Officer:                | Paul Cridland  |

# 1. Introduction

1.1 The Scrutiny Programme Committee is responsible for appointing members and conveners to the various scrutiny panels / working groups that are established.

# 2. Proposed Revision to Current Scrutiny Panel / Working Group Membership

2.1 Local Flood Risk Management Working Group:

ADD Councillors Steve Gallagher, Peter Jones, Irene Mann, Sam Pritchard and Brigitte Rowlands.

Councillor Peter Jones to replace Councillor Susan Jones as CONVENER.

Following these changes the revised membership of the Working Group will be 11:

#### Labour Councillors: 4

| Peter Jones (CONVENER) | Sam Pritchard |
|------------------------|---------------|
| Paul Lloyd             | Des Thomas    |

#### Liberal Democrat/Independent Councillors: 4

| Wendy Fitzgerald | Cheryl Philpott |
|------------------|-----------------|
| Susan Jones      | Gordon Walker   |

#### Conservative Councillor: 2

| Steve Gallagher | Brigitte Rowlands |  |
|-----------------|-------------------|--|
|                 |                   |  |

#### Uplands Councillor: 1

Irene Mann

2.2 Development & Regeneration Performance Panel:

**REMOVE** Councillors Oliver James and Andrew Stevens

Following these changes the revised membership of the Working Group will be 11:

#### Labour Councillors: 4

| Cyril Anderson | Gloria Tanner |
|----------------|---------------|
| Terry Hennegan | Mike White    |

#### Liberal Democrat/Independent Councillors: 4

| Wendy Fitzgerald | Jeff Jones (CONVENER) |
|------------------|-----------------------|
| Chris Holley     | Mary Jones            |

#### Conservative Councillor: 3

| Steve Gallagher | Will Thomas |
|-----------------|-------------|
| David Helliwell |             |

# 3. Proposed Membership of New Scrutiny Working Groups

- 3.1 Expressions of interest were sought from all non-executive councillors to lead and/or participate in the following working groups:
  - Renewable Energy
  - Homelessness
- 3.2 The interest from councillors is reported for agreement (see *Appendix* 1).

- 3.3 Key considerations for the Committee:
  - It is necessary for more than one political group to be represented on each panel / working group.
  - These bodies also need to be of a manageable size in terms of team working and effective questioning.
  - A minimum of 3 members should be present at all meetings.

# 4. Legal Implications

4.1 There are no specific legal implications raised by this report.

# 5. Financial Implications

5.1 There are no specific financial implications raised by this report.

# Background Papers: None Appendices:

**Appendix 1 -** New Working Groups - Proposed Membership List